• From North Carolina.
  • Formed by Steve Dilling in 2010 as a part-time band to perform during open dates when his full-time band IIIrd Tyme Out was not touring. Original band: Dilling (banjo), Darrell Webb (mandolin, lead vocals) who fronts his own band, Skip Cherryholmes (guitar) who performs with Lou Reid and Carolina and is also Dilling’s son-in-law, Jason Moore (bass) who is a member of Mountain Heart, and Justin Haynes (fiddle) who is also in IIIrd Tyme Out. Haynes was later replaced by Greg Luck.
  • 2013, released first album called Session 1 (Mountain Fever Records.)
  • 2013, Dilling announced his retirement from IIIrd Tyme Out, making Sideline his primary musical outlet.
  • 2014, Webb and Luck left the band. Dilling decided to make Sideline a full-time band (rather than just a “sideline”) so he hired musicians (and brothers) Brian Aldridge (mandolin) and Nathan Aldridge (fiddle) later in the year.
  • 2015 lineup: Dilling (banjo), Cherryholmes (guitar), Moore (bass), Brian Aldridge (mandolin), Nathan Aldridge (fiddle), Brad Hudson (Dobro™).
  • 2015, released second album Session 2 (Mountain Fever).
  • 2016, Brian Aldridge left the group. He was replaced by Troy Boone.
  • 2016, released Colors and Crossroads album (Mountain Fever).
  • 2017, Hudson (reso guitar/vocals) left the group to pursue a solo career. Multi-instrumentalist and vocalist Bailey Coe (guitar) took his place. Coe was formerly a member of the Grass Cats.
  • 2018, Nathan Aldridge (fiddle) left the band to join Russell Moore and IIIrd Tyme Out. He was replaced by fiddler Daniel Greeson.
  • 2018, released Front and Center album (Mountain Fever).
  • 2019, Zack Arnold (mandolin; formerly with Claybank) replaced Troy Boone. Jamie Harper (fiddle; formerly with Junior Sisk) replaced Greeson.
  • 2019, won the IBMA Award for Song of the Year (“Thunder Dan”).
  • 2021, Nick Goad replaced Zack Arnold (mandolin). 2020 lineup: Dilling (banjo), Cherryholmes (guitar), Moore (bass), Goad (mandolin), Harper (fiddle) and Jacob Greer (guitar; formerly with Claybank).
  • 2021, released Ups, Downs and No Name Towns album (Mountain Fever).
  • 2021, bass player Jason Moore died at the age of 48 (heart attack).
  • 2021, Greer left the band. New lineup: Dilling (banjo), Cherryholmes (guitar), Kyle Windbeck (bass), Goad (mandolin), Harper (fiddle) and Andy Buckner (guitar).