Churchmen, The


  • A gospel bluegrass band from Collinsville, Virginia.
  • Formed June 8, 1989 by original members Freddy Rakes (banjo), Keith Clark (guitar), Jeff Mills (bass) and F.D. Black (mandolin). First performance was at the Lynchburg (VA) Church of God of Prophecy. Later that same year, Black was replaced by Gerald Harbour on mandolin. Another early member of the band was Christian Gillikan (fiddle) who was in the band during most of the 1990’s.
  • 2003, their album “On the Journey Home” was nominated for a Dove Award for Bluegrass Gospel Album of the Year.
  • 2004, they purchased the Statler Brothers’ bus.
  • 2012, Carroll Arnn (banjo) joined the band, replacing Freddy Rakes. Arnn also is a songwriter and lead singer.
  • 2013, released their seventh album Mercy Road (Mountain Fever Records).
  • 2014 lineup: Keith Clark (bass), Gerald Harbour (mandolin), David Guthrie (guitar) Carroll Arnn (banjo, fiddle and guitar) and Rick Keen (resonator guitar).
  • 2015, released their eighth album Crown Of Thorns (Mountain Fever Records).
  • 2017, released God Holds Tomorrow album (Mountain Fever).
  • 2018, Jay Adams (guitar) joined the band. Other band members at the time: Gerald Harbour (mandolin), Carrol Arnn (banjo/guitar), Daniel Green (fiddle) and Keith Clark (bass).
  • 2018, Harbour (mandolin) was replaced by Greg Jones.
  • 2019, released A Mountain to Climb album (Morning Glory).
  • 2022, Christian Gillikan (fiddle) re-joined the group.