Tyminski, Dan


  • From Rutland, Vermont. Lives in Ferrum, Virginia and Nashville.
  • First band: played banjo with Green Mountain Bluegrass. Older brother Stan played mandolin.
  • 1988, joined the Lonesome River Band. Originally hired to play banjo, but switched to mandolin.
  • 1992, worked with Alison Krauss and Union Station for one year, playing guitar.
  • 1993, returned to the Lonesome River Band.
  • 1994, returned to Alison Krauss and Union Station.
  • 2000, released solo project and sang on soundtrack for the movie “O Brother, Where Art Thou” starring George Clooney. Clooney lip-synced to Dan’s lead vocal on “Man of Constant Sorrow.”
  • 2000, formed The Dan Tyminski Band with Ron Block, Barry Bales and Jeff White.
  • 2001, won CMA award for Single of the Year (“Man of Constant Sorrow”) and performed it on the awards broadcast with AKUS, Pat Enright and Vince Gill (as the Soggy Bottom Boys).
  • 2003, released Carry Me Across The Mountain album (Rounder).
  • 2003, co-hosted the 2003 Awards show with Alison Krauss.
  • 2007, re-formed the Dan Tyminski Band with Ron Stewart, Adam Steffey, Barry Bales and Justin Moses.
  • 2008, released Wheels album (Rounder).
  • 2009, won his fourth IBMA Award for Male Vocalist of the Year (also won in 2001, 2002 and 2003). He also won the IBMA award for Album of the Year (Wheels).
  • 2014, sang on a pop recording by electronic dance DJ Avicii called “Hey Brother” which went to #1 in 18 countries and sold more than a billion copies..
  • 2017, released solo project under the name Tyminski, Southern Gothic (Mercury Nashville).
  • 2021, re-formed the Dan Tyminski Band with Gaven Largent (resophonic guitar), Maddie Denton (fiddle), Jason Davis (banjo), Grace Davis (bass) and Harry Clark (mandolin).
  • 2022, released One More Time Before You Go album, a tribute to Tony Rice (North Star).