Steeldrivers, The


  • From Nashville.
  • Formed in 2005 by veteran musicians Mike Henderson (mandolin), Richard Bailey (banjo), Tammy Rogers (fiddle), Chris Stapleton (guitar) and Mike Fleming (bass).
  • Richard Bailey is a former member of such groups as the Kentucky Gentlemen and the Cluster Pluckers. He has worked with Bill Monroe, Roland White, Vassar Clements, Loretta Lynn, Chet Akins, Larry Cordle, Laurie Lewis, Dale Ann Bradley, and many others.
  • Mike Henderson recorded several solo albums on the RCA and Dead Reckoning labels. He has recorded with such artists as Waylon Jennings, Emmylou Harris, Hank Williams, Jr., Faith Hill and the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band. He has written songs for the Dixie Chicks, Kenny Rogers, Daryl Worley, Patty Loveless, Trisha Yearwood, Travis Tritt, The Fabulous Thunderbirds and Randy Travis, to name a few.
  • Tammy Rogers is a former member of the band Dusty Miller with Barry Bales, Tim Stafford, Adam Steffey, and Brian Fesler. She has recorded and toured with Neil Diamond, Wynonna, Rodney Crowell, Radney Foster, Bill Anderson, Iris Dement, Randy Scruggs, Patty Loveless, Jim Lauderdale, Reba McIntyre and many more. She also released a solo project Tammy Rogers (Dead Reckoning) in 1996.
  • Chris Stapleton is a Staffordsville, Kentucky native who began performing in 1999 in a Travis Tritt tribute band. As a songwriter, he has written or co-written songs for such artists as Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw, Brooks and Dunn, Julie Roberts, Daryl Worley, Patty Loveless, Brad Paisley, Trace Adkins, Lee Ann Womack, Montgomery Gentry, and the Lonesome River Band. He was lead singer and frontman for the Steeldrivers from 2005 to 2010. He has since become a Grammy-winning country music artist.
  • 2008, released The SteelDrivers (Rounder).
  • 2009, won the IBMA award for Emerging Artist of the Year.
  • 2010, released Reckless album (Rounder).
  • 2010, performed on the soundtrack to the movie “Get Low” starring Robert Duvall, Bill Murray and Sissy Spacek.
  • 2010, Stapleton left the band and was replaced by guitarist/vocalist Gary Nichols from Muscle Shoals, Alabama.
  • 2011, Henderson left the band and was replaced by Brent Truitt.
  • 2013, released Hammer Down album (Rounder).
  • 2015, released Muscle Shoals Recordings (Rounder). This album won the Grammy for Best Bluegrass album (2016).
  • 2015, former guitarist/lead vocalist Chris Stapleton released solo project and won multiple CMA Awards including Album of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year.
  • 2017, country singer and “The Voice” runner-up Adam Wakefield filled in for lead singer Gary Nichols who was on medical leave from the band.
  • 2018, Kelvin Damrell (guitar) joined the band, replacing Gary Nichols. Current lineup: Rogers (fiddle), Damrell (guitar), Bailey (banjo), Truitt (mandolin) and Fleming (bass).
  • 2020, released Bad for You album (Rounder).