Punch Brothers, The


  • From Nashville, relocated to New York City in 2008.
  • Formed in 2007 by mandolinist Chris Thile (formerly of Nickel Creek), enlisting the musicians from his solo project “How to Grow a Woman from the Ground.”
  • Original members: Thile, Chris Eldredge (guitar), Noam Pikelny (banjo), Greg Garrison, (bass) and Gabe Witcher (fiddle).
  • Band name comes from a Mark Twain description of a sign in a subway station instructing conductors to: “Punch brothers! Punch with care! Punch in the presence of the passenjare.” (Conductors punched subway tickets at the beginning of the ride.)
  • 2008, released first album Punch (Nonesuch).
  • 2008, bassist Greg Garrison left the band; replaced by Paul Kowert (formerly with the Mike Marshall Trio).
  • 2010, toured with Steve Martin.
  • 2010, recorded with Dierks Bentley on his Up on the Ridge album (Capitol).
  • 2010, released Antifogmatic album (Nonesuch).
  • 2010, appeared on the Tonight Show with Jay Leno.
  • 2011, toured with Paul Simon.
  • 2012, released Who’s Feeling Young Now? album (Nonesuch).
  • 2012, released Ahoy! album (Nonesuch).
  • 2015, released The Phosphorescent Blues album (Nonesuch).
  • 2018, released All Ashore album (Nonesuch).
  • 2019, won the Grammy Award for Best Folk Album for All Ashore (Nonesuch).