Pine Mountain Railroad


  • From Knoxville, Tennessee.
  • Formed in 1998 by guitarist, vocalist and songwriter Jimbo Whaley and banjo player Kipper Stitt. Other band members have included Bill McBee, Clint Damon, Roscoe Morgan, Michael Fagan, Matt DeSpain, Matthew Flake, Eli Johnson, Mark Cable, Elmer Burchett, Jerry Butler, Jerry Cole, Dale Perry, Dale Thomas and Danny Barnes.
  • 2001, signed a sponsorship deal making them the official bluegrass band of Odom’s Tennessee Pride Country Sausage. They were heard weekly on the Grand Ole Opry singing the product’s theme song.
  • Performed regularly at Dollywood and other venues around Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg, Tennessee, working for the department of tourism there.
  • 2003, released Old Radio album (CMH Records).
  • 2006, mandolinist Cody Shuler purchased the band name and changed it to Cody Shuler and Pine Mountain Railroad.
  • 2008, released Pickin’, Praisin’ & Singin’ album (Rural Rhythm Records.)
  • 2010, released “Cody Shuler and Pine Mountain Railroad” (Steeltown Records.)
  • 2012, released Heartache & Hope album (no label)
  • 2015, Shuler released solo project Cody Shuler (Rural Rhythm).
  • 2015, former members Jerry Butler and Kipper Stitt formed their own band called Kip and Jerry’s Rocky Road.