Nothin’ Fancy


  • From Buena Vista, Virginia (Shenandoah Valley).
  • Formed in 1994.
  • Several members of this group were previously in The East Coast Bluegrass Band.
  • Members: Mike Andes (mandolin), Gary Farris (guitar), Mitchell Davis (banjo), Chris Sexton (fiddle) and Tony Shorter (bass). Andes writes most of the band’s material and sings lead.
  • 2001, hosted their 1st annual bluegrass festival in Buena Vista.
  • They have won the SPBGMA’s “Entertaining Band of the Year” award multiple times.
  • 2002, released Once Upon a Road album (Pincastle).
  • 2004, released Reflections album (Pincastle).
  • 2006, released Album #7 album (Pinecastle).
  • 2009, released Lord Bless This House album (Pinecastle).
  • 2012, guitarist Gary Farris departed; was replaced by Justin Tomlin.
  • 2014, Tomlin left the group and was replaced by Jesse Smathers.
  • 2015, Smathers left the group and was replaced by Caleb Cox.
  • 2015, released By Any Other Name album (Mountain Fever).
  • 2018, released Time Changes Everthing album (Mountain Fever).
  • 2019, released Undeniable album (Mountain Fever).
  • 2021, Jake Lauzon joined the band, replacing Caleb Cox on guitar. Current lineup: Andes (mandolin), Sexton (fiddle), James Cox (bass), Jacob Flick (banjo) and Lauzon (guitar).