Mile Twelve


  • From Boston, Massachusetts.
  • Formed in 2014 by Evan Murphy (guitar), Bronwyn Keith-Hynes (fiddle), Nate Sabat (bass), BB Bowness (banjo) and David Benedict (mandolin).
  • Their name comes from a 12-mile marker that the band passes on the highway at the city limits of Boston. “It has become a signpost for our musical adventures when we’re leaving town or coming home.”
  • Murphy is the only Boston native (from Milton, Massachusetts).
  • 2017, released their first album Onward (no label). produced by Stephen Mougin.
  • 2017, won the IBMA’s Momentum Award for Band of the Year.
  • 2019, released City on a Hill album (Delores the Taurus), produced by Bryan Sutton.
  • 2019, banjo player and native New Zealander BB Bowness became a naturalized citizen of the United States.
  • 2020, won the IBMA Award for New Artist of the Year.
  • 2021, fiddler Keith-Hynes won the IBMA Award for Fiddle Player of the Year.
  • 2021, Benedict and Keith-Hynes left the band and were replaced by Ella Jordan (fiddle) and Korey Brodsky (mandolin).