Lil’ Smokies, The


  • From Missoula, Montana.
  • Formed in 2010. Band members: Andy Dunnigan (dobro), Scott Parker (upright bass), Matt Cornette (banjo), Jake Simpson (fiddle) and Matt Rieger (guitar).
  • How they got their name: At their first paid gig, the green room was supplied with beer, toothpicks and a plate of Lil’ Smokies sausages. At that time, they didn’t have a band name. After the show, when asked the name of their band, they looked at the empty plate of toothpicks and had their answer.
  • 2013, won The Northwest String Summit Band Competition in Oregon.
  • 2013, released The Lil’ Smokies album (no label)
  • 2014, released Live on New Year’s Eve album (no label)
  • 2015, won the band contest at the Telluride Bluegrass Festival.
  • 2016, won the IBMA Momentum Award in the band category.
  • 2018, released Changing Shades album (United Interests).