Cane Mill Road


  • From Deep Gap, North Carolina.
  • Formed in 2015 by teens Liam Purcell (mandolin) and Tray Wellington (banjo) who are both from Deep Gap (home of Doc Watson). Also in the band: Elliott Smith (bass) and Casey Lewis (guitar).
  • 2017, released first album Five Speed (no label), produced by Cathy Fink and Tom Mindte.
  • 2019, released Gap to Gap album (Patuxent). The members of the band have to drive between Deep Gap, NC and Rocky Gap, VA (a distance of about 100 miles) in order to play music together.
  • 2019, won the IBMA Momentum Award for Band of the Year. Tray Wellington also won the Momentum Award for Instrumentalist of the Year.
  • 2020, disbanded. Mandolinist Liam Purcell kept the band name and is performing as Liam Purcell and Cane Mill Road with other musicians.
  • 2021, Purcell released Roots album (Trailhead). He wrote all the songs and played all the instruments.