Breaking Grass


  • From Booneville, Mississippi.
  • Formed in 2010. Band members: Cody Farrar (guitar/lead vocals/songwriter), Tyler White (fiddle), Thelton Vanderford (banjo), Zach Wooten (mandolin), and Britt Sheffield (bass).
  • 2011, won first place at the State of Mississippi Bluegrass Band Championship, first place in the Athens Old Time Fiddler’s Bluegrass Band Competition in Alabama and first place in the Uncle Dave Macon Days Bluegrass Band Competition in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.
  • 2011, recorded first self-titled album.
  • 2012, won B.O.R.N. (Band On The Rise Nationally) award.
  • 2012, released second album Running With the Moon (no label) produced by Stephen Mougin.
  • 2014, released Just As Strong album (Mountain Fever).
  • 2016, banjo player Vanderford left the band and was replaced by Jody Elmore.
  • 2017, released Warning Signs album (Mountain Fever).