Hickory Hill


  • From Avinger, Texas (east Texas).
  • Formed in 1978.
  • Members: Ronny Singley (mandolin), Bob Stegall (bass), Don Eaves (banjo), John Early (lead guitar).
  • Founding member Rolan Foster died of cancer in 1996. Replaced by Jimmy Godwin (guitar/fiddle).
  • Founders John Early and Rolan Foster began playing music together while in junior high school. They lived across the street from each other in Avinger, Texas.
  • Major influence: The Eagles (Don Henley is also from East Texas).
  • 1982, released “Coyote Night” album (no label).
  • 1983, released “Historical Collection” album (no label).
  • 1985, released “It’s About Time” album (no label).
  • 1990, released “Reminiscing” album (no label).
  • 1993, won “Band of the Year” honors from the Arts and Entertainment Council of East Texas.
  • 1995, released First Fifteen Years album (Turquoise).
  • 1998, released “Good Times Again” album (no label).
  • 2000, released “Thank You Lord” album (no label).
  • 2002, released “Freedom” album (Nashville Incorrect).
  • 2006, released their ninth album “Old School” (no label).