header image

A to Z listing

  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z


  • From Cary, North Carolina.
  • Formed in 1989 by Russell Johnson (mandolin) and Earl Lewellyn (guitar).
  • 1993, won first place at the Pizza Hut International Bluegrass Showdown national finals in Owensboro, Kentucky.
  • 1993, won “best band” at the SPBGMA Award Show in Nashville.
  • 1993, released first album “Timeless” (New Time).
  • 1995, Julie Elkins (banjo) joined the band.
  • 1995, released No Time for the Blues album (Pinecastle).
  • 1996, released Sands of Time album (Doobie Shea).
  • 1997, Jody King (banjo), James Doncsecz (bass) and Kim Gardner (Dobro™) join the band.
  • 1999, released Changing Times album (Pinecastle).
  • 2000 lineup: Johnson, Llewellyn, Gena Britt (banjo), Greg Martin (bass) and Kim Gardner (Dobro™).
  • 2000, played last show at IBMA Fan Fest.
  • Johnson (mandolin, lead vocals) writes much of the band’s original material. He has also recorded as a solo artist and performs with a band called The Grass Cats.
  • Before forming New Vintage, Johnson performed professionally as a magician.
  • 2007, the group was re-formed by Johnson (who is also in the Grass Cats).
Artist List

This is a labor of love,
but every dollar = a cup of coffee while
I work at keeping this resource up to date.
Thanks for whatever you send my way!