header image

A to Z listing

  1. A
  2. B
  3. C
  4. D
  5. E
  6. F
  7. G
  8. H
  9. I
  10. J
  11. K
  12. L
  13. M
  14. N
  15. O
  16. P
  17. Q
  18. R
  19. S
  20. T
  21. U
  22. V
  23. W
  24. X
  25. Y
  26. Z


  • From Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Formed in 1988 by vocalists Margaret Archer Bailey and Kris Ballinger (who began singing together in 1979 in Vassar Clements’ Hillbilly Jazz Band). Kris’ husband Dale played bass.
  • They were regulars at Nashville’s Station Inn.
  • They appeared with Chet Atkins on the PBS TV show, Austin City Limits.
  • 1989, released first album “The Cluster Pluckers” (no label).
  • 1989, appeared on John Hartford’s album Down On The River.
  • Sang with Hoyt Axton in the Ken Burns TV special, “Songs of the Civil War.”
  • 1992, released “Just Pluck It” album (no label).
  • 1993, appeared at President Clinton’s inauguration, representing the state of Tennessee.
  • Backing musicians included Richard Bailey (married to Margaret) on banjo, Brent Truitt (mandolin), Mark Howard (guitar) and Blaine Sprouse (fiddle).
  • Occasional Pluckers included Jimmy Mattingly (fiddle), Randy Howard (fiddle), Roy Husky, Jr. (bass), David Grier (guitar), Andrea Zonn (fiddle), Kathy Chiavola (guitar and vocals).
  • Their name was given to them by singer/songwriter Billy Edd Wheeler (of “Coward of the County” fame). He noticed that they “stood in a cluster while they plucked.”
  • 1995, released “Unplucked” album (no label).
  • 1995, released “Gospel Favorites” album (Chapel Music Group).
  • They disbanded in 2003.



Artist List

This is a labor of love,
but every dollar = a cup of coffee while
I work at keeping this resource up to date.
Thanks for whatever you send my way!